There has been a lot of chatter about the Hyde Amendment since Obamacare was introduced and passed.

Since 1976 the Hyde Amendment has banned federal taxpayer funding of most abortions. It is named after its original sponsor, pro-life Congressman Henry Hyde, pictured right. But Hyde isn’t a law; it must be approved every year.  Nor did Hyde cover Obamacare.

The Stupak Amendment would have codified the Hyde Amendment into Obamacare, but we all know that ended up on the Democrat cutting room floor.

For years there has been neither the political will nor ability to codify the Hyde Amendment into permanent law – until now. Kathryn Lopez wrote at National Review Online August 9:

House Republicans went back to their districts at the end of July with a draft agenda for the fall campaign and priorities for a 112th Congress that they hope will be in their care.

Included in it, in the health-care section, is this, a commitment to permanently prohibit taxpayer funding of abortion: “Congress should codify the Hyde Amendment and explicitly prohibit all federal funds from being used to pay for abortion.”….

[In addition] Republican congressman Chris Smith of NJ and brave Democrat Dan Lipinski of IL introduced the “No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act” right before they left DC for the summer recess. It would do exactly what the House Republican leadership promises to do if they are in the majority next time around: codify the Hyde Amendment across the board….

H.R. 5939, the aforementioned No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act, has 159 bipartisan cosponsors – 20 Democrats and 141 Republicans. Read the current list here, and if you don’t see your representative on it, call and ask him or her to sign on.

There are some interesting omissions on the list, particularly a certain MI Democrat:

Democrats who voted for the Stupak-Pitts amendment who have not cosponsored HR 5939 are: Altmire, Baca, Barrow, Berry, Bishop, Boccieri, Cardoza, Chandler, Cooper, Costa, Cuellar, Davis (AL), Doyle, Driehaus, Etheridge, Gordon, Hill, Holden, Kaptur, Kildee, Langevin, Lynch, Matheson, Melancon, Michaud, Mollohan, Neal, Obey, Perriello, Pomeroy, Reyes, Rodriguez, Ross, Ryan (OH), Salazar, Shuler, Skelton, Snyder, Space, Spratt, Stupak, Tanner, Teague.

Republicans who voted for the Stupak-Pitts amendment who have not cosponsored HR 5939 are: Biggert, Bilbray, Bono Mack, Capito, Castle, Chaffetz, Dent, Dreier, Flake, Frelinghuysen, Gerlach, Hastings, Heller, Kirk, Lance, Lewis (CA), LoBiondo, Lucas, Mack (FL), Miller (FL), Nunes, Paul (TX), Petri, Putnam, Reichert, Rohrabacher, Rooney, Royce, Simpson, Walden, Young (FL), Young (AK).

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...