The press thinks, and Democrats hope, the controversy surrounding President Obama’s contraception mandate issue has dissipated.

It hasn’t.

I wrote yesterday a vote is anticipated any time now in the Senate on Senator Roy Blunt’s measure, the Respect for Rights of Conscience Act.

Meanwhile, Congressman Jeff Fortenberry has introduced similar legislation in the House.

Both bills have the bipartisan support of 220 Members of Congress and Senators.

Today Congressman Fortenberry and 49 House and Senate colleagues will hold a news conference at 1p EST to promote the legislation, “which would protect the religious liberty and conscience rights of every American who objects to being forced by the strong-arm of government to pay for drugs and procedures recently mandated by the Department of Health and Human Services.”

Here is the list of Members who plan to attend the press conference:

Congressman Jeff Fortenberry, author of HR 1179, the Respect for Rights of Conscience Act

Congresswoman Sandy Adams

Congressman Robert Aderholt, Chairman of Appropriations Subcommittee on Homeland Security

Congressman Todd Akin, Chairman of Armed Services Subcommittee on Sea Power Projection

Congressman Steve Austria, House Appropriations Committee

Congressman Spencer Bachus, Chairman of House Financial Services Committee

Congressman Lou Barletta

Congressman Rick Berg

Congresswoman Diane Black, House Ways and Means Committee liaison to House Budget Committee

Congressman Charles Boustany, Chairman of House Ways and Means Subcommittee on Oversight

Congressman Kevin Brady, top Republican on the Joint Economic Committee, senior member of the House Ways & Means Committee

Congresswoman Ann Marie Buerkle, Vice-Chairman of Oversight and Government Reform Subcommittee on Regulatory Affairs, Stimulus Oversight, and Spending

Congressman Dan Burton, senior member of the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee

Congressman Francisco ‘Quico’ Canseco

Congressman Steve Chabot, Chairman of House Foreign Affairs Subcommittee on the Middle East and South Asia

Congressman Sean Duffy

Congresswoman Virginia Foxx, Chairman of House Subcommittee on Higher Education, member House Committees on Rules

Congressman Phil Gingrey, Chairman of GOP Doctors’ Caucus, Chairman of Energy and Commerce Subcommittee on Oversight

Congressman Louie Gohmert, Vice-Chair of Judiciary Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security

Congressman Bob Goodlatte, Vice-Chairman of House Agriculture Committee

Congressman Gregg Harper, Chairman of Fragile X Caucus, Chairman of House Administration Subcommittee on Elections

Congresswoman Vicky Hartzler

Congressman Tim Huelskamp

Congressman Bill Huizenga

Congressman Randy Hultgren

Congressman Walter Jones

Congressman Jack Kingston, Chairman of Agriculture Subcommittee on Rural Development and Food and Drug Administration

Congressman Raul Labrador, Vice-Chairman of Oversight and Government Reform Subcommittee on National Security, Homeland Defense, and Foreign Operations

Congressman Doug Lamborn, Chairman of House Natural Resources Subcommittee on Energy and Mineral Resources

Congressman Jeff Landry

Congressman Bob Latta

Congressman Donald Manzullo, Chairman of House Foreign Affairs Subcommittee on Asia and the Pacific

Congressman Mick Mulvaney, Chairman of Small Business Subcommittee on Contracting and Workforce

Congressman Patrick McHenry, Chairman of Oversight and Government Reform Subcommittee on TARP, Financial Services, and Bailouts of Public and Private Programs

Congressman Jeff Miller, Chairman of House Committee on Veterans Affairs

Congressman Alan Nunnelee

Congressman Pete Roskam, Chief Deputy Whip for Republican House Caucus

Congressman David Schweikert

Congressman Jim Sensenbrenner, Vice-Chairman of Committee on Science, Space, and Technology

Congressman Steve Scalise, author of House letter to Secretary of Health and Human Services Kathleen Sebelius on the mandate

Congressman Bobby Schilling

Congresswoman Jean Schmidt, Chairwoman of the Agriculture Subcommittee on Nutrition and Horticulture

Congressman Tim Scott, Deputy Whip, Elected Leadership Committee

Congressman Chris Smith, Co-Chairman of Pro-Life Caucus, Chairman of House Foreign Affairs Subcommittee on Africa, Global Health, and Human Rights

Congressman Steve Southerland

Congressman Marlin Stutzman, Deputy Whip for Republican House Caucus

Congressman Lee Terry, Vice-Chairman on Energy and Commerce Subcommittee on Communications and Technology

Congressman Glenn Thompson, Chairman of the Agriculture Subcommittee on Conservation, Energy, & Forestry

Congressman Robert Turner

Senator David Vitter

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...