imageIn response to a state law passed in 2012, the Arizona Department of Health Services issued new rules in January specifying that the administration of the abortion drug RU-486 must follow FDA guidelines.

This meant that come April 1 Arizona abortion clinics would only be able to dispense RU-486 up to 49 days (7 weeks) after the first day of a woman’s last period rather than up to 63 days (9 weeks), as is abortion industry practice.